6 Reasons To Travel Solo

1755af61fd5c60a5f39455001e9cdf9fHello beautiful people from the Internet!

I wanted to share my 6 reason to traveling solo with you today. As I have mentioned in previous posts, London is the first city I’ve traveled completely by myself. It was weird at first, but then I started to really REALLY like it.

I decided to travel to London by myself basically because anyone else was able to. Our schedules didn’t match, they didn’t have the money/didn’t want to spend money or they didn’t want to come… so! I decided to go there anyways.
If I have to be honest, I was quite nervous. You never know what you can encounter during your trip, so this was the only thing it was making me stress a bit.

I was in a nice area, so it wasn’t super dangerous or anything like that. The mobility through the city was super easy, and I had a tube stop two minutes away from my hostel, so it’s not like I was lost in the middle of nowhere for 4 days, or took me forever to get to the centre of London.

Now that I’ve introduced you my first solo experience I want to share my reasons (learnt everything in 4 days!) on why you should travel alone, ENJOY!

  • TRIP PLANNING. How many times have you had to depend on someone else to buy your plane tickets, book a hotel… I think we have all been there at some point of our lives. Let’s be real, traveling with friends or family can be fun
    , but you can’t deny that it can be also pretty stressful. You have to depend on everyone else to get their tickets, book the same hotel as you. If you don’t want confusions, one person is in charge of bu
    ying everything and then the rest pays them back (if they don’t “forget”), the list of things that can happen while planning a group trip is never ending. What happens when you travel by yourself?
    Well, things change A LOT. If you see an offer online, you can go ahead and book it. You choose the destination, the hostel/hotel, the area you want to stay in, your budget… We could say you have total control of everything, it is soooooo much easy.
  • CONFIDENCE. This experience it has made me have more confidence in myself. Why? Well, I’ve seen that I am capable of moving around a city I’m not familiar with by myself, with no help. I that made me realize that I do not need someone by my side telling me where to go or what to do. It feels really good to know that you can rely on yourself to do things you like and want to do! 🙂
  • BUDGET. Money is pretty important. I’ve mentioned it before, and I’ll mention it again. I am a student, I don’t make a lot of money, so I can’t just go spending the little I have on stupid things every single day. When you go with more people, maybe someone wants to go to an expensive place to eat, want to visit something and the tickets for that are crazy expensive (let’s admit it, usually touristy things are really expensive). If you travel solo, you decide what to do with your money. Is it worth it going to this expensive building? No? Then bye, let’s move on to another thing you are interested in. 
  • FRIENDS. Traveling solo & friends. Is that even possible? YES IT IS PEOPLE. In hostels, you’ll find A LOT of people that are just like you, solo. In there, most people are pretty friendly and social, so it’s really easy to make new friends. Don’t be scared to talk to people, probably they want to talk to you too and maybe they don’t know how to start a conversation.
  • ITINERARY & TIMING. Each person has different interests so when you travel as a group, you have to take into account every interest of every person, and try to visit and do what everybody wants. This can sometimes create arguments, misunderstandings and confusions. Does that happen when you travel alone? NOPE. Your interests are the only ones that matter. If you love museums, maybe you want to spend 4h in one, and then just want to walk by the churches without getting in, who knows right? 
  • SATISFACTION. Do you need to feel guilty if you want to sleep in? If you just want to sit down and chill in a park? If you want to stop and get some food? NO. Why? Because the only person that needs to feel happy is YOU. It may sound kind of selfish and self-centered, but you need to understand that your happiness is important, and that you can do whatever and whenever you want without feeling guilty because someone else wanted to wake up early and walk around the whole city or because they were not hungry so they did not want to waste time in a café if you could just visit other things.Processed with VSCO with se3 preset 

Love,

logos

 

 

2 thoughts on “6 Reasons To Travel Solo

  1. I’m trying to book holidays with my friends for summer but they’re all being such pains about it- I’ve been thinking about going on my own and so your perspective has been so inspiring. I thought I’d be so lonely but I never thought about all the people I’d meet in hostels! Thanks for the help x
    http://halfgirlhalfteacup.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely understand! That’s how I ended up going to London by myself, it was scary because I had never done it before but it’s really worth it. And yeah! You meet loads of people there and you also get to know yourself better during your alone time. Glad it was helpful! 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

